The beginning…

Change is hard.  If you keep doing the same thing then you will continue to get the same results.

These two sayings were replayed in my mind for several weeks before I decided to take a step forward with my health.  I felt like it was a giant leap off of a ledge but it was a step.  I decided to find yet a new way to get exercise in.  I have done the gym, boxing classes, and all the other stuff that one tries to see if they can get into shape.  I even tried to become a runner.  I got a friend to join me and we would go out and follow an app on my phone to train for a 5k.  That lasted several months.  But I wasn’t loosing weight, my breathing wasn’t getting better, and I just didn’t see myself running further each week.  Each week I continued to struggle and hate the running.

Well none of the above methods worked so I had a friend that was doing CrossFit and thought why not?  Before you even get started, yes I heard of all the injuries and all of the horrible things that people were saying about it.  Remember everything has a story and there are always other sides to it.  I felt you can’t judge until you try it out and give it a shot.  So the last week of school in June 2013 I gave it that try.  I loved it!  I can sit here and go on and on with why it has become something that has worked for me but I think the most important thing I can tell you in the beginning is every box (that is what a CrossFit gym is called) is different.  It is the people inside the box (the trainers and the members) that make the box work for you. Well, I also am hoping that you will see how it has changed my life as you continue to read my blog.  You will see my struggles but see the love shine through.  I am hoping that you will also see how the people have inspired me and pushed me to succeed in things I never think I can do.

So that was my first step.  I joined CrossFit and for the next month I worked out 4 times a week.  It was the only change I focused on.  I didn’t change my diet, I didn’t add another element.  I just tried CrossFit.   The only change I made.  I felt exercise was going to be the way to help my body get healthy. This gives you a little background of where I started.  My next few posts will be doing just that to catch you  up to present day.

To finish up my first blog post, I ask you a question.   What small change might you make today?  What one thing can you do and do for 30 min a day or every day for the next 30 days?

3 thoughts on “The beginning…

Leave a Reply

